top of page

The Tale of Ava Rose

A story about the adventures when planning the very first garden birthday party for my fun loving baby girl Ava Rose Rosschile. Voyage with me as I share the details of this epic occasion.

To all parents out there planning a birthday party for your children, I realize it's an amazing experience in itself. This is definitely a joyous time that is worth celebrating. I believe that a baby's first birthday should be an epic occasion. As a busy wife, mother, and businesswoman finding the time to pull this off has been an eventful journey. After having my 3rd baby girl, Ava Rose my mommy-make-it-happen mode definitely intensified. I had such a fun time planning this celebration so much that I'm excited to share the little treasures that we experienced during "The Tale of Ava Rose".

Choosing the theme

Every child has their individual personality. Their party theme should be an expression of their interests. Since Ava Rose' birth she's enjoyed playing with her stuffed animals. And one of signature happy dances includes a bunny hop movement. Yeah, the bunny hop! So therefore, it was effortless to feature a bunny in her party decor. And to make the venue selection a garden setting at the gorgeous Vulcan Park in Birmingham, Al. I designed her invitations by using my favorite poster vender www.Postermywall.com. I also designed a descriptive chalk board poster banner to display at the garden party.

It featured the chalkboard background and incorporated butterflies and a bunny to express the garden theme.

Selecting the menu

The food that you serve should also include the child's favorites. Ava Rose is a breakfast food lover. She certainly enjoyed the fruit-topped pancakes. In order to include her favorite fruit, I used these really cute bamboo knot party picks and mini cone glasses with stands to enhance the presentation. You can pick those up at your local www.Partycity.com

I enjoyed the convenience of kabobs so much that I also included bacon on a stick. I included a variety of cupcake flavors which included: lemon ice, strawberry, peaches and cream. And to top off the breakfast theme the absolute party favorite was the maple bacon pancake cupcakes.

 

Smash That Cake

Baking isn't my specialty so choosing the right bakery for the cake was a priority. Ava Rose enjoys strawberries and it's a garden party. I selected a pink rose strawberry cake with canary yellow dandelions. I've enjoyed Edgar's bakery cakes in the past but this time they exceeded my expectations. The deliciously designed strawberry cake and matching smash cake was exceptional. Ava Rose enjoyed every bite down to her finger tips. The cake was used as the centerpiece which was an enhancement to the decor and garden theme.

Gameplay and fun

What is a party without a game or two? We opted to perform a puppet show. My oldest daughter, India is an actress who enjoys writing also. With a little help from me we designed the puppet show stage with 2 tri-fold project boards and paper flowers all purchased from www.Dollartree.com. The puppet show was interactive and funny. The performance script included games like Simon says and recognition of the venue. The party was hosted at Vulcan Park, the home of the world’s largest cast iron statue; made of 100,000 pounds of iron and 56 feet tall, he stands at the top of Red Mountain overlooking the city of Birmingham. But Vulcan is more than just a statue—Vulcan Park and Museum features spectacular views of Birmingham, an interactive history museum that examines Vulcan and Birmingham’s story. The view from the top of the

statue was breathtaking.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page