top of page

Pink Party: Breast Cancer Awareness

Who thinks pink is an awesome color? Of course, we do! During the month of October, people are encouraged to wear pink in honor of Breast Cancer Awareness month. I've had the privilege to participate or volunteer at pink events in the past. But this year, being a part of the festivities is a monumental effort. My mom, Ethel Kidd was diagnosed with HER2 (human epidermal growth factor receptor 2)is one such gene that can play a role in the development of breast cancer. Since her diagnosis in January, she has kicked those cells in the behind. My mom's oncologist and the entire medical staff at the Cancer Center at Providence Hospital in Mobile, Alabama took an aggressive approach to remove the small cells and now she is cancer free. We're celebrating her survival and honoring all breast cancer patients.

Designing this party magnified my passion for pink. My selection of pink roses, table runners, linens, and table decor will reveal that. I used the personalized t-shirt designed by my sister, Shannon Kidd Adams for the theme reference. I thought the splashes of black and white, with all that pink added pizzazz. You can pick the runner fabric and ribbon up from your local Hobby Lobby store.

The dinner party tablescape design should feature your individual style. My use of pink roses for centerpieces is definitely my way of incorporating my love for flowers. I'm a sweets treater, so I enhanced the table decor with desserts all along the way. I purchased all of the pink candy at Party City. The delicious macaroons came from Woops in Lenox Square Mall in Atlanta, Georgia. The macaroon flavors included: strawberry, caramel fleur de sel, and rose. The celebration wouldn't be complete without the cotton candy champagne. The Barefoot Bubbly Pink Moscato champagne was the party's favorite.

Our day consisted of a relay breast cancer walk, a reception honoring the survivors, fundraiser for research, and the dinner party. The venue selection should be accommodating to correspond with your event. The dinner party guest were family and friends, so therefore this intimate gathering was graciously hosted at Shannon Kidd Adams' home in Monroeville, Alabama. The food served was flavorful and the guest were delighted. This dinner party was phenomenal and heart warming for all of those present. It was an honor to design this event. If you're interested in making a contribution to further research and educational support for women with breast cancer check out https://donate.nationalbreastcancer.org.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page