top of page

Glow Up: Teenage Neon Party


This is so funny to me. It's hilarious that we use the term "glow up" to describe the appearance transformation of the teenagers in my circle from their elementary school pictures to their current junior high school current swag. I helped design a super hero party for my nephew Blake and the entire time we joked about India, Kimora, Kayba, and Jaylin's glow up. All of these kids are very dear to my heart and I feel that they were adorable then and now. They just aren't always down with the positive vibes. Because of their teenage hormones, I guess. Who knows? But quite honestly, designing a neon party for India turned out to be more fun than I imagined.

Of course, we had to express her birth age of fourteen in epic proportion with the over-sized foam balloon numbers. This party really gave me creative freedom with the use of neon paint and the back light.

I'm used to painting on canvases, which made it easy to paint on the black cotton fabric to design the neon backdrop. I used glow in the dark paint to create a splash paint design. The neon balloons that covered the ceiling provided the perfect lighting for the dance party palooza. Those teenagers didn't require much light in order to dance the night away.

The cake table was decorated with neon confetti all over. This group of teenagers enjoys candy, so I included "Candytinis as dessert. The ingredients included gummies, skittles, and m&m's with sprinkled cupcakes and gumballs on top. There were two cake with a neon topper and a glittery gold one.

Photography: Tara Kidd Rosschile/Lily Indkart Studios

I hope these little snipettes will help you have the best neon party ever.

XOXO,

Tara

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page